Skip to Content

Medal of Hope

Medal of Hope

Medal of Hope
Medal of Hope
Recipients of the Medal of Hope are students who have demonstrated a commitment to their personal development as a student leader at Texas State University by participating in a comprehensive set of activities designed by the Leadership Institute/Dean of Students Office. The recipients of this recognition receive the “Medal of Hope” the semester they graduate. These student leaders represent “The Hope” we have in the next generation of Bobcat Leaders and our confidence on the impact that they will have in their communities after graduation. Any Texas State student can participate in reaching this goal. 

Apply for the Medal of Hope by April 12th!



CLICK HERE to request an audit!

Medal of Hope Criteria

In order to be considered as a recipient for the Medal of Hope students must complete and submit the following:
  • Application
  • Co-Curricular Transcript - Obtained through iCAT
  • Letter of Support from a Texas State full-time Faculty or Staff member (excluding Dean of Students staff)
  • Minimum Cumulative GPA: 2.0
  • Completion of Medal of Hope involvement grid (see below)
Applications will only be considered for students graduating at the upcoming graduation ceremony. Medals will be distributed 1-2 weeks prior to graduation. Selections will be made by Leadership Institute and Dean of Students staff. All applicants will be evaluated using the following Medal of Hope Involvement Grid. Please note that involvement is not limited to this grid nor do all student applicants have to participate in every program or service listed.

Apply Today!


Points/Event (Max)

Leadership Institute Involvement

60 Pts Required

Leadership Institute Annual Conference


Leadership Institute special projects


Texas State Leadership Capstone Program


Leadership Workshop Series


Leadership Film Series


Student Leadership Board Member


Pathfinder: Emerging Leaders Program


LeaderShape® - Texas State


Attend state/national leadership conference


Attend LBJ Presidential Library and Museum Trip


Immersion Experience


Texas State Involvement

20 Pts. Required

Hold an officer position in a student organization


Distinguished student awards


Serve on university/division committee


Minor in Leadership Studies


Ally of Texas State


Equality University


Student Government Officer/Senator


Other (as approved by the DOS staff)



20 Pts. Required

Complete 30 service hours on campus or in the community


Complete 20 service hours with the Leadership Institute



Have questions about your eligibility or need help identifying ways to get points? Contact the Leadership Institute!

Expand or Collapse all.

2017 Recipients

Crystal Akanwa
Alezandra Aleman
Anisah Y. Ali
Karah L. Beavers
Naiha Asuncion Campos
Lashantynia J. Clayton
Alyson Crowley
Janelle Garza
Shantel Garza
Andrew (Drew) Gonzalez
Ryan Kessinger
Stefanie Maldonado
Mariela Martinez
Tamara Merritt
Malik M. Mingo
Karina Y. Ogunlana
Paola Olvera
Paige Pelletier
Dyhanara Rios
Denise K. Salters
Gina M. Segura
Kara M. Solis
Isell J. Varela


2016 Recipients

Michelle Arreguin
Mackenzie E. Carhart
Ruth Flores Carrillo
Valeria Carrillo
Elizabeth Cruz
Audrey Cull
Cynthia Garza
Andrea L. Gordillo
Mayson A. Hornsby
Tumilara O. Idowu
Ramces Luna
Katherine M. Martin
Samuel Myers
Gabriela Perez
Taylor T. Polanco
Joshua N. Quinn
Mackenzie (Davidson) Reiter
Aja L. Rodriguez
Kelly L. Salas
Samantha K. Sheffield
Ashley Shoemake
Chelsea C. Thompson
Storm Inez Monteiro Tyler
Alexis N. Velasquez
Samantha M. Wimberly
Amanda N. Zanella

2015 Recipients

Bailey P. Albrecht
Drake J. Allen
John-Patrick Blackard
Haley A. Bunnell
Tiffany J. Burr
Emily E. Cardenas
Hallie Casey
Leigh Ann Clemons
Chad Higdon
Madelon Leigh Hillegeist
Jennifer M. Lirette
Yolany Melgarejo
Adam Odomore
Elijah Serena
Katharine N. Sobel
Mae L. Strang
Clancy Taylor

2014 Recipients

Samantha E.R. Blondell
Jessica L. Cline
Francisco Cruz Mendez
Jordan Ashton Gass-Poore'
Kristina A. Graves
Elizabeth N. Grothaus
Jaime L. Hollingsworth
Warren B. McAdams
Stephanie Lauren Moore
Aaron Noon
Vanessa M. Rivera
Cassandra Trevino

2013 Recipients

Goretti Acevedo
Nancy Alvarado
Nakeria Lynch
Nathan McDaniel
GiGi McDowell
Jasmin McDuffie
Brenna Murphey
Jesus Palacios
Victoria Paris
Marie Rivera-Diaz
Roberto Sanchez
Sarah Smallwood
Diana Soria
Marjea Wheaton